Out of nowhere it seems that everything – every emotion, every negative thought, the insecurities, all the anger, the hurt, all of it – is brought back to the center in just an instance.  I’m not sure when and if that will ever end.  I certainly have hope that it will.

There was a mission farewell in our ward today.  Those don’t sting as much as they used to even six months ago which proves that time and prayer has been working for me.  I can look at these families of the elders and be excited for them and remember all those happy feelings I had as my brief stint as a missionary mom less than a year ago.  I am truly happy for every elder and their family and perhaps I hold my breath a little for them hoping their journey ends better than ours.

What I haven’t figured out yet is how to handle the speakers that I know are fulfilling their duty as priesthood leaders of the church and perhaps don’t realize that their words can sting.  The speaker was talking about the new missionary changes and how the shortened time in the MTC requires every single person to help prepare the youth to serve.  He said, “We need good parents, dedicated parents, to teach their kids to be prepared to serve. We can’t have any more kids that have not been prepared.”  And then I am reminded all over again that I was not, am not, a good parent because I didn't raise that kid.  And I look out over the congregation to the other families that have walked this road and see the same look and emotion on their faces that I am feeling.    And just like that, I feel that all the forward progress I have made is erased and I've got to fight through all those feelings again.  Nothing like having all your deepest thoughts and fears confirmed over the pulpit :) 

Tracy
11/21/2012 10:27:20 pm

I just came to say Happy Thanksgiving to you, the people of the early return blog, and thank you for putting your feelings out there for those of us who also feel your pain. I relate so much to the feelings of being happy for other missionaries leaving and their families, while also holding my breath for them. And forget about over the pulpit, try ward council having your deepest thoughts and fears of not being a good parent, or having a good son, confirmed! I believe that it was the very week that my son had come home for the 2nd time that I was sitting in ward council. RSP. Yep. And the counselor in the Bishopric over the youth was talking to the YM pres saying that we needed to "toughen up" the young men so that they would be ready to serve missions. My son came home once for worthiness issues, went back a year later only to return again of his own choice. Maybe because he wasn't tough enough. I'm sure they didn't mean to be insensitive. I'm sure the YM leaders need to focus, as do families, on getting those kids ready for missions. But as you have put into words so many times here on your blog, there just doesn't seem to be any counsel for those of us in this boat, the SS Failure to Complete. Credit for time served? Credit for dropping them off at the MTC twice? Credit for trying really hard? Oh well, we do what we can. Holidays are hard when they should still be gone. And here they are, both good and bad. I'd also like to see a "misery index" for missions. Some are just physically and emotionally harder. Mission presidents also have different personalities as well as different nationalities. I wish I could see some statistics, not that it would change anything, on how many come home, from where, and why. Maybe that data would help parents, YM leaders, college ward bishops, etc, not to mention the missionaries. But I digress. Happy Thanksgiving, I'm thankful for you!

Reply



Leave a Reply.